Chamber awards gala near

Winners announced, businesses recognized

By Joe P. Asher - [email protected]

The Harlan Chamber of Commerce discussed plans for their annual awards gala during a meeting on Wednesday.

After the meeting, Chamber members Amiee Blanton and Ron Frazier gave some specifics about the upcoming event.

“The gala is to honor individuals, organizations and businesses in our county who have made contributions in our community and are continuing to make contributions to better our community,” Blanton said.

Frazier mentioned awards will be given in 10 categories, including:

• Excellence in Customer Service — Donell’s Pharmacy;

• Lawson-Hoskins Dedication and Lifetime Achievement Award — Lisa Abraham;

• Non-profit of the Year — Harlan ARH Hospital;

• Educator of the Year — Dr. James Green;

• Business of the Year — Air Evac;

• New Business — Little India Restaurant;

• Health Care Provider of the Year — Dr. Sam Guindi;

• Chamber Member of the Year — Anne Hensley;

• Harlan Countian of the Year — Jordan Smith; and

• President’s Award — Nola Sizemore

“The recipients are all nominated by the people of Harlan County,” said Blanton.

The Chamber then considers the nominees and makes a decision on the winners.

The awards have been going on for several years, with this year’s event taking place at 6:30 p.m. at the Harlan Center. Tickets are $35 for a single ticket, $65 for couples and $200 for a table of six.

“They’re supporting these individuals,” Blanton said when asked why people attend the gala. “They’re supporting the efforts of the businesses and organizations. They’re showing their support for continued progress in Harlan County.”

Frazier added the Gala is a good opportunity to network with local business and community leaders.

“We also like to recognize business that have been in business for several years,” Blanton said.

Frazier said entities recognized for longevity this year will include Harlan Country Club for 75 years; Ross Auto Sales for 50 years and Alliance Insurance, Sherry Brashear, Dairy Queen, Sun Cook’s Sewing Shop and Tesh’s Market each will be recognized for being in business for 25 years of service.

Blanton said any individual wishing to join the Chamber of Commerce should speak with any of the board members or go to for membership information.

The Harlan County Chamber of Commerce meets every second Wednesday of the month upstairs at The Portal. All are welcome to attend.

Reach Joe P. Asher at 606-909-4132 or on Twitter @joe_hde.

Winners announced, businesses recognized

By Joe P. Asher

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus