Hall of Fame inductees announced

Special to Civitas Media

Three 2015 Harlan County High School graduates will be inducted into the Harlan County Schools Frank Brittain Academic & Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday.

Brody A. Belcher, Sierra Kathryn Hatfield and Jay L. Phillips were selected for the honor by the Hall of Fame selection committee. The additions will bring the total number of students honored on the wall to 20 since the program began in 2004.

The Hall of Fame was established in conjunction with the Brittain family to honor the memory of longtime Harlan County educator Frank Brittain.

The program will begin at 3 p.m. in conference room of the central administrative office building, located at 251 Ball Park Road in Harlan.

The three honorees had many accomplishments during their education in the school district. They were valedictorians of their senior class with a 4.0 GPA, earning honor graduate recognition.

Belcher is currently attending Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College and will transfer to the Appalachian school of pharmacy and pursue a pharmacy career.

Hatfield and Phillips are attending the University of Kentucky. Hatfield is majoring in political science and economics. Phillips is majoring in biosystems and biomedical engineering.

Special to Civitas Media

comments powered by Disqus